Is a Flower Crown a Good Idea? Or, Am I Just Mutton Dressed as Lamb?

When considering the nuptial shindig, I am drawn to the ever so slightly pagan. Upon reflecting on how I’d like my sartorial part of this whole thing to go down, I know I want flowers in my hair and the barest feet possible (still with shoes on as I have some walking to do day of the event). Bees are a reality I do not want to encounter with my feet on any day let alone a day with a professional photographer capturing everything. Lest anyone think I am a low-maintenance hippie due to my flower crown interest, yeah no. I am very attached to my black eyeliner and synthetic materials.

So, I bought some silk floflowercrown3wers as close as possible to our general wedding floral plan. And, I made myself a crown while Pastry made dinner (I highly recommend the weird edamame pasta from Costco). I thought it would be dainty, and turns out, it’s HUGE. And, I kind of enjoy having obnoxious ranunculus perched on my head. But, am I mutton dressed as trendy, music festival-going lamb? I am not exactly a dewy, young thing with a violent urge to wear ripped short-shorts while swaying to band whose name likely includes an ampersand. I’m more of an early 30s snark-o-saur with a penchant for the bohemian and comfort.

Pastry laughed when he saw it, and then told me that on a scale from 1-10, he would give it an 8. He also said that if I get fancy head wear, he’s going to have to look into an obnoxious cowboy hat for the wedding in order to feel equally fancy. So, I’m going to pack my gigantic crown for future dress shopping adventures to see how it goes with a crazily expensive pieces of tulle. Meanwhile, I might just wear the crown around the house when I am working on papers for ye olde doctorate. Or, when I have cramps. Or, when I need coffee. Or, when I just need to feel a little pagan, a little fancy, or a little like a fancy pagan.

Side note: Our chiweenie with an attitude problem, Pepe, barked at me when I put it on my head. He is team “Mutton Dressed as Lamb.”

One thought on “Is a Flower Crown a Good Idea? Or, Am I Just Mutton Dressed as Lamb?

Leave a Reply

